RINJAZ · BUSINESS SERVICES
Knowledge Centre

Government Transactions & Document Clearing

Getting Your Degree Attested and Recognised for UAE Use

Degree attestation for the UAE explained: the issuing country chain, the MoFA stage and fee, and how to check whether a separate recognition step applies.

Editorial photograph illustrating Getting Your Degree Attested and Recognised for UAE Use in the UAE

Your offer letter asks for an attested degree from a university abroad. Which stamp comes first, and do "attested" and "recognised" mean the same thing?

They do not. Attestation confirms that the signatures and seals on your certificate are genuine. Recognition is a separate check on the qualification itself. For a degree issued outside the UAE, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MoFA) sets out a three-stage attestation chain: the foreign ministry of the issuing country, then the UAE embassy or consulate in that country, then MoFA in the UAE through its website or app. Whether you also need recognition depends on what the degree is for.

This article covers educational documents only. For the general attestation chain across all document types, see the UAE document attestation guide.

Two processes, two sets of authorities

AttestationRecognition (formerly equivalency)
What it confirmsMoFA's attestation page states that "Attestation certifies the authenticity of the signatures and seals on documents issued within or outside the United Arab Emirates."The u.ae page (updated 24 March 2026) describes a service "to verify qualifications issued from accredited higher education institutions outside the UAE"
Who handles itThe issuing country's foreign ministry, the UAE mission there, then MoFA in the UAEThe Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research (MoHESR) on its service cards (last modified 23 August 2026) and on u.ae (24 March 2026); the Ministry of Education on other pages, including a DHA manual of July 2025 (see below)
Published feeMoFA FAQ: "Individual Affairs Documents: AED 150"; MoFA Attestations Guide: AED 150 for "Educational certificates"MoHESR: AED 350 partner verification and AED 50 recognition report (from outside the UAE); AED 50 per document (from the UAE)

The u.ae page states that "The recognition report serves as an official document for employment, further studies, visas and government services in the UAE."

Step one: decide what the degree is for

A work permit

MOHRE's overseas work permit page asks for "A clear certificate bearing the name of the employee". It sets a bachelor's degree or higher for skill levels 1 and 2, a diploma or higher for levels 3 and 4, and a high school certificate for level 5. It states: "There is no requirement for a certificate for skill levels 6 to 9."

The words "attested" and "attestation" do not appear on the MOHRE overseas work permit page or the MOHRE work permit transfer page reviewed on 20 September 2026. So ask the employer, in writing, whether it needs the certificate attested and to what stage. Employers can see where the certificate sits in the wider sequence in the employer's employment visa process, step by step.

A professional licence

The requirements for a particular profession are set by the licensing authority for that profession. Three official pages show how this varies:

  • The u.ae preparing-to-work page (updated 12 August 2026) states: "In the UAE, some professions also require the attestation of university degrees by the Ministry of Education."
  • The u.ae page on qualifications to be a teacher (updated 6 October 2025) asks for "attested certificates in case the educator has graduated from a university outside the UAE" and states that "Teachers must hold a teacher's licence to work legally."
  • The Dubai Health Authority's Manual for Licensing Healthcare Professionals (version 1.3, effective 18 July 2025) states: "For certain qualifications, DHA may require a certificate of equivalency from the Ministry of Education".

A residence application

If the degree supports a residence application, match it to the visa route first, using the overview of UAE residence visa types.

A child's school certificates

School certificates follow a different track. The u.ae page on equalising high school certificates (updated 13 May 2025) states: "All certificates presented for the purpose of equalisation must be attested from Ministry of Education in the UAE and/or the education authority from the country of issuance." It adds: "School certificates issued from abroad, in languages other than Arabic and English, must be legally translated and duly attested." Ask the school which of its admission documents, if any, need equalisation or attestation.

If your child already studies at a private school in Dubai and needs its certificates attested, KHDA describes a service to "request an electronic attestation of a student's academic certificates or grade cards issued by a private school in Dubai." It lists "Service fees: AED 120" and a service timeline of "3 working days". HR teams supporting a relocating family can place this alongside employee family visa support.

Step two: identify the attestation chain

Degrees issued outside the UAE

MoFA's FAQ page sets out the chain in three sentences:

  1. "Original documents must be attested by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the issuing country."
  2. "Documents can then be attested by the UAE Embassy or Consulate in the issuing country by applying through MoFA online channels."
  3. "Original documents must be attested in the UAE through the Ministry's official website www.mofa.gov.ae or the UAE MOFA smart application."

The u.ae preparing-to-work page describes the first two stages in the same order. Where there is no UAE mission in the issuing country, that page directs the reader to contact MoFA.

Check the issuing country's own pre-steps. That country's foreign ministry may expect an earlier step at home. MoFA's attestation page states that the mission service "is available through selected UAE Missions abroad" and asks users to check the website of the UAE mission in their country of residence "to confirm whether the service is available electronically".

Read the mission's page, not a general summary. The UAE Embassy in London page shows why. It states: "Documents issued in the UK must be attested by the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO)." It also states: "The UAE Embassy in London will not legalise non UK, Irish or Icelandic academic certificates". The same page adds: "Documents apostilled in a bundle are not accepted. They should be certified or legalised separately." That is one mission's page, quoted as an example only. Read the page of the UAE mission in the country that issued your degree.

Apostille. Whether an apostille replaces embassy attestation was not stated on the MoFA attestation page, the MoFA FAQ page or the u.ae preparing-to-work page reviewed on 20 September 2026. Ask the UAE mission in the issuing country, and MoFA, before you rely on an apostille.

Which embassy. The u.ae teachers page refers to "the country's embassy in the UAE". MoFA's FAQ page refers to "the UAE Embassy or Consulate in the issuing country". Confirm the route with MoFA.

Degrees issued in the UAE

MoHESR's service card for recognition of qualifications from the UAE (last modified 23 August 2026) states: "Verification is provided through a QR code on the certificate or transcript, serving as official proof of academic approval." It lists a fee of AED 50 "per document (all pages of an academic transcript count as one document)" and a service completion time of 3 working days.

In an earlier news item dated 13 January 2026, MoHESR states that it "launched a digital automatic recognition service for qualifications issued by UAE-based HEIs, eliminating all paperwork, procedures and visits and cutting processing time from three days to instantaneous." The same item refers to "34 HEIs connected to the system". The later service card lists 3 working days, so ask MoHESR which timing applies to your university.

For institutions licensed by KHDA in Dubai, KHDA describes a service for students "to request the attestation of their university degrees or related documents issued by higher education institutions licensed by KHDA in Dubai." It lists "Service fees: AED 220" and a service timeline of "2 working days". It also states: "Certificates or documents issued by higher education institutions before the academic year 2006-2007 are not attested."

MoFA's attestation page offers digital attestation "for UAE-issued digital documents intended for use outside the United Arab Emirates", within 2 hours during official working hours, for "supported digital document types issued by approved UAE government entities". Other documents go through a courier service provider, which the page times at 1 to 3 business days. If the degree is for use in the UAE, ask the requester whether it needs the MoFA stage at all, then ask MoFA which route applies.

Step three: the recognition step, where the university degree is verified

The name. MoHESR's service card for recognition of qualifications from outside the UAE (last modified 23 August 2026) states: "'Recognition' is the new name for the service previously known as 'Equivalency'."

Who handles it: two names on official pages.

  • MoHESR's service card (23 August 2026) and the u.ae student admission page (updated 24 March 2026) name MoHESR, which the u.ae page says "offers the University Qualifications Recognition service".
  • The u.ae recognition system page (no update date shown) describes "verification of degree with one of the trusted partners of Ministry of Education" and then "application for recognition from Ministry of Education". The DHA manual of July 2025 also names the Ministry of Education.

Of the dated pages, the MoHESR card carries the latest date. If a requester names the Ministry of Education, ask whether a MoHESR recognition report meets its request.

Conditions and documents. The MoHESR card requires an original, authentic certificate from a university that was accredited in the country of study during your period of study. Its submission rule states: "Provide all required documents or data within 7 working days; otherwise, the Ministry reserves the right to close and cancel the request." It asks for the original graduation certificate (or one obtained from the awarding institution) and "A clear copy of the photo page" of your passport.

How the process runs. The u.ae recognition system page states: "The certificate recognition process consists of two distinct stages." On the MoHESR card, you first choose one of the Ministry's accredited partners and sign in with UAE Pass. "The chosen partner will review your request and contact the awarding institution to verify your qualification."

Fees and time. The MoHESR card lists two fees:

Stage on the MoHESR cardFee shownCard wording
Stage 1: Partner VerificationAED 350"Paid directly to our approved partners to authenticate your qualification before the recognition process begins."
Stage 2: Ministry Recognition ReportAED 50"Paid only after successful verification."

The card gives a "Service completion time" of 18 working days and states: "Refund policy: Please note that all service fees are non-refundable." To the question whether you can apply from outside the country without a UAE residence permit, it answers: "Yes, you can apply for the service."

What changed in 2023. A Ministry of Education news item dated 22 June 2023 announced the "University Certificates Recognition" system, which its title says replaces the "University Qualification Equivalency" system. It lists removed conditions that "include the need for attesting previous degrees". Check with MoHESR whether these statements still describe the current service.

Step four: the MoFA stage in the UAE

Channels. MoFA's FAQ page states: "MoFA Customer Happiness Centres are closed". Its attestation page names the channels as the "Ministry of Foreign Affairs website (www.mofa.gov.ae) and the UAE MOFA smart application".

Condition of the document. For the courier route, MoFA's attestation page requires "The original document in Arabic or English, or accompanied by a legally certified translation." It adds: "The original document must be certified or attested by the relevant competent authorities, where applicable. The document must not be laminated."

Government fee. MoFA's FAQ page answers "What are the attestation service fees?" with "Individual Affairs Documents: AED 150." MoFA's Attestations Guide lists AED 150 against "Educational certificates" issued from the UAE and against "Educational Certificates" issued outside the UAE. The same FAQ lists "Educational documents (certificate & transcripts are treated as two different documents)". So a degree certificate and its transcripts are counted as two documents. Neither page, in the wording reviewed, states whether the AED 150 is charged per document. Ask MoFA how the fee applies to your request.

Courier options inside the UAE. MoFA's FAQ page lists these courier options.

Option on the MoFA FAQ pageAmount shown
"Normal: 3 working days""AED 40"
"Express: 1 working day""AED 150 (excluding Value Added Tax)"
"Prepaid Courier Service"Packages for companies and entities

Processing time: two published statements. The MoFA FAQ ties the courier options to 3 working days and 1 working day. MoFA's attestation page gives the courier route as 1 to 3 business days, "depending on the selected courier service provider". For attestation outside the UAE, the same page states: "Processing may take up to 15 business days". Confirm the current time with MoFA when you apply.

Keep the costs in three columns

Do not add these figures together: the KHDA fees apply only to Dubai private schools and KHDA-licensed higher education institutions, the MoHESR fees apply only where recognition is needed, and the charges are paid to different parties.

ColumnExamples from the pages reviewedWho sets it
Government chargesMoFA "Individual Affairs Documents: AED 150"; MoHESR recognition fees (see step three; the Stage 1 fee is paid directly to the approved partner); KHDA "AED 120" (school) and "AED 220" (higher education)The authority, on its own page
Courier and mission chargesMoFA courier options; the UAE Embassy in London note "Transaction fees will be applied, 3 dirham + 2% per transaction."MoFA and the mission; ask each how it is collected
Provider service feeSet by any provider you appointThe provider, in writing

If you are planning a move, add these lines to your cost of living budget.

Fees checked on 20 September 2026.

A worked example

A new hire holds a bachelor's degree and a transcript from a university abroad, for a role at skill level 2. She asks the employer, in writing, which attestation stages it needs, because MOHRE's page asks for "A clear certificate" without saying "attested". If recognition is needed, she pays the MoHESR partner fee first and the report fee only after successful verification.

The attestation and recognition planner

Practical asset: the attestation and recognition planner. Complete one planner per qualification. (1) Purpose. Tick one: work permit, professional licence, residence application, child's school. Write down who asked for the document and the exact words they used. (2) Chain. Issued outside the UAE: issuing-country foreign ministry, then the UAE mission in that country, then MoFA in the UAE. Issued in the UAE: KHDA attestation for a KHDA-licensed Dubai institution, MoHESR recognition for UAE-issued qualifications, or both; ask the requester which it needs, then whether it also needs the MoFA stage. (3) Recognition. Is recognition (the former equivalency) also needed? Who said so: the employer, the licensing authority, the university or the school? Get it in writing. (4) Documents. List the certificate and the transcripts as two documents, as MoFA does. Note any translation needed and whether any original is laminated. (5) Start first. Begin with the steps outside your control: the issuing-country pre-steps, the foreign ministry and the mission stage, and the MoHESR partner verification for recognition. Gather its documents before you apply, as MoHESR allows 7 working days. Start these before the MoFA stage in the UAE.

Take these questions to the issuing country's authority and the UAE mission there.

AskWhomWhy
Does the foreign ministry need a prior step, such as a notary or education ministry stamp?Issuing country's foreign ministryStage one may depend on it
Will the mission attest academic certificates issued in another country?UAE mission in the issuing countryThe London page limits this
Does an apostille replace any stage for UAE use?UAE mission and MoFANot stated on the MoFA and u.ae pages reviewed
Must the certificate and transcripts be presented separately, not bundled?UAE missionThe London page does not accept bundled apostilles
What fees does the mission charge, and how are they paid?UAE missionThe London page lists its own transaction fee

What each party does

What the authorities decide. Each authority decides its own step: the issuing country's ministry, the UAE mission, MoFA, MoHESR or the Ministry of Education, KHDA, and the licensing authority for your profession. No provider decides any of them.

What you prepare. The originals, the transcripts, any translation, and a written statement of what the requester needs.

Who can apply. MoFA states that "Anyone can attest documents on your behalf." If you appoint a provider, check it with the PRO provider due-diligence checklist.

Information verified against official sources on 20 September 2026.

Contact RINJAZ to confirm availability, scope and quotation for the attestation or recognition steps your degree may need. RINJAZ is a privately licensed UAE service provider. It is not a government entity and does not act for any authority. A provider's role, within whatever its licensed activity covers, is to prepare documents, submit them through the correct channel and track progress. Each authority named above decides its own step, and no provider can promise the outcome.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Clear answers, without the clutter

Is degree attestation the same as an equivalency certificate?
No. They are separate steps. Attestation concerns the signatures and seals on the document. MoHESR's service card for qualifications from outside the UAE (last modified 23 August 2026) states: "'Recognition' is the new name for the service previously known as 'Equivalency'." That service verifies the qualification itself, through an accredited partner and then a ministry recognition report. Other official pages name the Ministry of Education for recognition. Source: Official source ↗
What is the attestation chain for a degree issued outside the UAE?
MoFA's FAQ page, read on 20 September 2026, states that original documents "must be attested by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the issuing country", then "by the UAE Embassy or Consulate in the issuing country by applying through MoFA online channels", and then in the UAE through MoFA's website or smart application. Source: Official source ↗
How much does MoFA charge to attest a degree certificate?
MoFA's FAQ page, read on 20 September 2026, lists "Individual Affairs Documents: AED 150." MoFA's Attestations Guide lists AED 150 against educational certificates, whether issued in the UAE or outside it. The FAQ states that a certificate and its transcripts "are treated as two different documents". Neither page, in the wording reviewed, states whether the AED 150 is charged per document. Courier charges are listed separately. Ask MoFA how the fee applies to your request. Source: Official source ↗
Does MOHRE require an attested degree for a work permit?
MOHRE's overseas work permit page, read on 20 September 2026, asks for "A clear certificate bearing the name of the employee" at a level set by skill level, and no certificate for skill levels 6 to 9. The words "attested" and "attestation" do not appear on that page. Ask the employer which stages it needs. Source: Official source ↗
Can an apostille replace embassy attestation for the UAE?
Whether an apostille replaces embassy attestation was not stated on the MoFA attestation and FAQ pages or the u.ae preparing-to-work page reviewed on 20 September 2026. The UAE Embassy in London page states: "Documents apostilled in a bundle are not accepted." Ask the UAE mission in the issuing country and MoFA. Source: Official source ↗
How much does MoHESR recognition cost for a degree from outside the UAE?
MoHESR's service card, last modified 23 August 2026, lists AED 350 for Stage 1 partner verification, "Paid directly to our approved partners", and AED 50 for Stage 2, the ministry recognition report, "Paid only after successful verification." It gives a service completion time of 18 working days and states that all service fees are non-refundable. You can apply from outside the UAE. Source: Official source ↗
How do I attest a degree from a KHDA-licensed university in Dubai?
KHDA, on a page last updated 13 January 2026, describes a service for students to request attestation of degrees issued by higher education institutions licensed by KHDA in Dubai. It lists "Service fees: AED 220" and a service timeline of "2 working days". KHDA states that documents issued before the academic year 2006-2007 are not attested. Source: Official source ↗
VERIFIED REFERENCES

Official sources

Primary government and institutional references used to verify this guide. Open any source in a new tab for the current authority wording.

  1. UAE Ministry of Foreign AffairsOfficial guidance and service information
  2. UAE Ministry of Foreign AffairsOfficial guidance and service information
  3. UAE Ministry of Foreign AffairsOfficial guidance and service information
  4. UAE Government Portalpage updated 12 Aug 2026
  5. UAE Government Portalpage updated 24 Mar 2026
  6. UAE Government PortalOfficial guidance and service information
  7. mohesr.gov.aepage last modified 23 Aug 2026
  8. mohesr.gov.aepage last modified 23 Aug 2026
  9. mohesr.gov.aenews item dated 13 Jan 2026
  10. moe.gov.aenews item dated 22 Jun 2023
  11. Ministry of Human Resources and EmiratisationOfficial guidance and service information
  12. Ministry of Human Resources and EmiratisationOfficial guidance and service information
  13. UAE Government Portalpage updated 06 Oct 2025
  14. Dubai Health Authorityissued 18 Jul 2025
  15. UAE Government Portalpage updated 13 May 2025
  16. web.khda.gov.aepage updated 13 Jan 2026
  17. web.khda.gov.aepage updated 13 Jan 2026
  18. UAE Ministry of Foreign AffairsOfficial guidance and service information

NEXT STEP

Turn the guidance into a clear transaction plan.

Tell us what you need, and we will identify the responsible authority, required documents and practical next step before quoting any service.

Start a service request →