RINJAZ · BUSINESS SERVICES
Knowledge Centre

Visas, Residency & Relocation

Freelance Visa: Independence, With Conditions

Freelance visa Dubai explained: the MOHRE freelance work permit, DDA and RAKEZ freelancer permits, ICP Green residence terms and what applies during the term.

Editorial photograph illustrating Freelance Visa: Independence, With Conditions in the UAE

You want to leave your employer, and your residence permit is tied to that job. Adverts offer a "freelance visa" as one product, and you need to know what you are actually applying for.

On the federal pages we reviewed on 20 September 2026 (u.ae and ICP), we did not find a product called a "freelance visa". Those pages use the terms freelance work permit, Green visa (u.ae) and Green residence (ICP). RAKEZ's own page is titled with the phrase "Freelance Visa", for a package built around its Freelancer Permit. The official pages reviewed describe three separate things. The first is a freelance work permit from the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation (MOHRE). The second is a freelancer permit or licence issued by a free zone or licensing authority, such as the Dubai Development Authority (DDA) or RAKEZ. The third is Green residence for "Freelancers and Self-employed Individuals", published by the Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs and Port Security (ICP). ICP's first Green condition for freelancers is a permit issued by MOHRE.

How these fit among the other residence routes is set out in the overview of UAE residence visa types. This article covers the residence side: what each official page asks for, what it leaves unsaid, and the obligations that run from application to renewal.

Three official terms behind one marketing phrase

The UAE Government Portal (u.ae) work visa page does not describe freelance conditions itself. Under "Green visa for work", it points readers onward: "Read about Green visa for skilled workers, freelancers and self-employed."

Official termPublished byWhat the page saysWhat we did not find on the pages reviewed
Freelance work permitMOHRE, described on u.ae"issued to individuals who wish to engage in freelance work independently"Validity, fees, documents, who may apply
Freelance Licence ("Sole Professional License")Dubai Development AuthorityLets professionals work "by their birth name as opposed to a brand name"Any statement on residence sponsorship
Freelancer PermitRAKEZ"eligible for a UAE Residence Visa"Rules apply to RAKEZ only; whether the permit must be renewed before the residence permit
Freelancer LicenceADRA (Abu Dhabi)"The business must be established as a sole proprietorship."Validity period
Green residence, freelancers and self-employedICP"granted for a period of five years, with the option of renewal"Whether income and solvency are alternatives

Each of these is published by a different authority, and each page lists its own conditions.

The MOHRE freelance work permit

The u.ae work permits page, updated 13 August 2026, states that "MoHRE has 13 types of work permits." One of them is the freelance work permit. The page says it "is issued to individuals who wish to engage in freelance work independently (including foreign nationals on self-sponsored residence visas) without being sponsored by an employer in the UAE and without requiring an active employment contract."

Cabinet Resolution No. (1) of 2022, the Executive Regulation of the labour law, lists the permit in Article 6. That article lists a "Freelance Work Permit" granted to individuals practising freelance work "without the requirement of holding a valid employment contract". The same article states that the person is "in no way, an employee of such individuals or establishments." The UAE Legislation portal shows the resolution as "Active" on 20 September 2026.

What we did not find. We did not find the permit's validity period, its fees, its document list or a statement of who may apply on the u.ae work permits page or in the resolution text reviewed on 20 September 2026. We could not load MOHRE's own service pages for this permit on that date. Before you plan around this permit, ask MOHRE:

  1. Who may apply, and whether your current residence status affects the application.
  2. How long the permit lasts, and how it is renewed.
  3. Which documents and fees apply to your case.
  4. Which channel accepts the application.

The wider permit system, including the other permit types, is covered in the explainer on work permits and labour cards.

Free zone and emirate freelancer permits

The rules quoted below are each authority's own. We reviewed the DDA, RAKEZ and ADRA pages; other free zones and emirates were not reviewed for this article.

Dubai Development Authority

DDA's registration page states: "The Freelance license offers the ability to operate as a freelance professional. The Permit identifies you as a sole practitioner and enables you to conduct your business in your birth name as opposed to a brand name."

The page lists these documents:

  • "Valid passport copy of applicant with Residence Visa Page (if any)"
  • "NOC from external authorities according to the Licensing Categories Decision"
  • "Self-Declaration Form (applicable if holds a valid visa)"

For the channel, the page directs applicants to the TECOM Group website and says "Select 'Set up as a Freelancer'". It shows "Estimated Time to Deliver: 2 Working Days".

DDA's Decision No. (1) of 2021 Concerning Licence Categories covers freelancers in Article 9. Article 9.1 states that freelancer permits "will only be to individuals on a sole practitioner basis." Article 9.3 states: "A Freelancer is not an employee for the purposes of the Employment Regulations."

Residence. We did not find any statement about residence visa sponsorship on the DDA freelancer, registration, renewal or cancellation pages, or in the Licence Categories Decision, reviewed on 20 September 2026. Ask DDA directly whether and how a residence permit can be linked to a DDA freelancer permit. Do not rely on third-party sites for that answer.

RAKEZ

RAKEZ's freelancer permit page states: "A Freelancer shall conduct business in his/her own birth name as opposed to a company name." It adds: "The Freelancer can select only 1 activity per Permit."

On residence, the page describes the package as "eligible for a UAE Residence Visa". It also states: "It is optional for UAE residents (GCC and Non-GCC Nationals) to take RAKEZ visa sponsorship." The page mentions "1 and 2-year packages".

RAKEZ sets two limits that shape how you work:

  • "Freelancers shall not be eligible to open a Corporate Bank Account"
  • "Freelancers shall not be eligible to appoint any staff or obtain additional visa under the permit."

The eligible professions differ between two RAKEZ sources. The web page names media and education professionals. The RAKEZ professions list PDF also carries the headings "PROFESSIONS IT", "PROFESSIONS ANALYST" and "PROFESSION OTHER". Confirm with RAKEZ which list is current before you choose an activity.

Abu Dhabi

ADRA's Freelancer Licence page states: "The business must be established as a sole proprietorship." It also states: "Freelancer licence holders can secure an Abu Dhabi residency for themselves and their families." Ask ADRA which residence route that sentence refers to.

Green residence for freelancers: what ICP lists

ICP's Green Residence Guide, updated 12 September 2026, states: "Green Residence is one of the UAE's long-term residence categories. It is granted for a period of five years, with the option of renewal, and enables holders to live and work in the UAE without the need for a sponsor."

Under "Freelancers and Self-employed Individuals", the guide lists four separate bullets under "Key Requirements":

  1. "Hold a freelance work permit or a self-employment permit issued by the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation."
  2. "Hold a qualification of no less than a bachelor's degree, specialised diploma, or equivalent."
  3. "Provide proof of stable annual income or financial solvency throughout the period of residence in the UAE."
  4. "The annual income from freelance work during the previous two years must not be less than AED 360,000 or its equivalent in foreign currencies."

The guide lists the income bullet and the solvency bullet separately. It does not say whether they are alternatives or whether both apply.

The guide also states: "No sponsor is required within the UAE." On family, it lists "The ability to sponsor family members, including the spouse and children, in accordance with the approved requirements." Family sponsorship rules are covered in the guide to family visa sponsorship eligibility.

Where the official pages differ

Income or solvency. The Abu Dhabi Residents Office (ADRO) words this differently. Its freelancer page states: "Your annual income from self-employment for the previous two years is not less than AED 360,000 or its equivalent in foreign currencies Or You must provide proof of your financial solvency throughout the duration of residency in the UAE." ADRO joins the two with "Or"; ICP lists them separately. Ask ICP, or the residence authority in your emirate, which evidence it needs from you.

Which permit. ICP asks for "a freelance work permit or a self-employment permit issued by the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation." ADRO asks that you "Have obtained a freelance work permit from the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratization (MOHRE)." The text of Cabinet Resolution No. (65) of 2022 downloaded from the UAE Legislation portal, which may be the original version, refers to "Obtaining a free Working Permit from the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratization (MOHRE)". Confirm with ICP and MOHRE which permit name your application should carry.

Which text of the law. The UAE Legislation portal lists Cabinet Resolution No. (65) of 2022 as "Active", with six amendments. The text we read may be the original version, so wording may have changed. It states: "The ICA may grant The Foreigner Residence Permit for self-employment independently without The Employer/The Guarantor".

Dubai and Abu Dhabi service points

GDRFA Dubai's Green residency service group lists "Issuing a green residence permit (self-employment)" among its services.

ADRO's page carries a notice that applicants in Abu Dhabi need to see: "Submitting a nomination request for this category is currently unavailable through Abu Dhabi Residents Office." ADRO's Green Visa page also states that holders can "sponsor sons up to age 25 and unmarried daughters, regardless of age."

ICP also lists a separate Green category for "Investors and Business Partners", covered in the guide to investor and partner visas. For the Golden visa, see the UAE Golden visa guide.

Obligations that continue after issue

Keep the permit current. DDA's renewal service "enables the freelancer to renew the license before expiry online to ensure continuity of legal practice." It runs through the AXS portal, while DDA's registration page points to the TECOM Group website. DDA's cancellation service "enables the freelancer to cancel the license" and asks for a written undertaking for non-liability.

Keep your address on file. DDA's Licence Categories Decision, Article 2.7, states: "Freelancers must ensure to maintain and inform the Authority of its registered address consisting of a location and a postal address to which all communications and notices may be addressed."

Health insurance. The u.ae health insurance page, updated 28 October 2025, states for Dubai: "Employers are required to provide health insurance coverage for their employees. Sponsors are required to get insurance cover for their resident dependents." We did not find a rule written for freelancers or self-sponsored residents on that page, reviewed on 20 September 2026. Ask your emirate's health authority what applies to you and your dependants.

Corporate tax. Cabinet Decision No. 49 of 2023, Article 2(1), states that a natural person's business activities "shall be subject to Corporate Tax only where the total Turnover derived from such Businesses or Business Activities exceeds AED 1,000,000", measured within a Gregorian calendar year. The Federal Tax Authority's page on natural persons lists "Wages" among the excluded income. Registration is covered in the guide to UAE corporate tax registration. Confirm your position with the FTA or a licensed tax adviser.

At the end of the term. ICP lists "Greater flexibility upon the expiry of the residence through the provision of specified grace periods." We did not find the length of that grace period on the ICP guide, the u.ae Green visa page or the ADRO pages reviewed on 20 September 2026. We also did not find a rule on whether the permit must be renewed before the residence permit on the u.ae work permits page, the ICP guide, the DDA renewal page or the RAKEZ permit page, reviewed on 20 September 2026. Ask both authorities before either expiry date.

The obligations timeline and route checklist

Timeline of a freelancer's obligations from permit and residence application to renewal
Practical asset: the freelancer obligations timeline and route checklist. Fill in your own dates and answers, and keep this sheet with your permit and residence papers. | Stage | What the official page says | Page | Your note | |---|---|---|---| | Before applying | Green: "Hold a freelance work permit or a self-employment permit issued by the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation." | ICP Green Residence Guide | Permit held? [yes / no] | | Before applying | Green: qualification "no less than a bachelor's degree, specialised diploma, or equivalent" | ICP Green Residence Guide | Qualification: ____ | | Before applying | Green: annual income over "the previous two years must not be less than AED 360,000"; separate bullet on "stable annual income or financial solvency" | ICP Green Residence Guide | Evidence ICP asked for: ____ | | Before applying | DDA: passport copy, NOC "according to the Licensing Categories Decision", self-declaration if you hold a valid visa | DDA registration page | NOC needed? [yes / no] | | At issue | Green: "five years, with the option of renewal" | ICP Green Residence Guide | Residence expiry: ____ | | At issue | DDA: sole practitioner, birth name. RAKEZ: one activity per permit | DDA; RAKEZ | Permit expiry: ____ | | During the term | DDA: "maintain and inform the Authority of its registered address" | DDA Decision No. (1) of 2021, Art. 2.7 | Address last updated: ____ | | During the term | RAKEZ: not eligible to "appoint any staff", "obtain additional visa" or "open a Corporate Bank Account" | RAKEZ permit page | Applies to me? [yes / no] | | During the term | Natural person tax threshold: turnover "exceeds AED 1,000,000" in a Gregorian calendar year | Cabinet Decision No. 49 of 2023 | Turnover checked on: ____ | | Before renewal | DDA: renew "before expiry" through the AXS portal | DDA renewal page | Renewal date: ____ | | Before renewal | Green: "specified grace periods" (length not stated) | ICP Green Residence Guide | Grace period ICP confirmed: ____ | Route checklist: answer these for each route you are considering 1. MOHRE freelance work permit: have I confirmed with MOHRE who may apply, the permit's validity, fees and channel? [yes / no] 2. MOHRE freelance work permit: does the permit name match the wording ICP asks for ("freelance work permit or a self-employment permit")? 3. Free zone freelancer permit: which authority issues it (DDA, RAKEZ or another), and does that authority's own page say anything about residence? 4. Free zone freelancer permit: which activity will I register, and is it on the authority's current list? 5. Green residence: can I show the qualification, and which income or solvency evidence did ICP (or ADRO) confirm it needs? 6. Green residence: which authority in my emirate accepts the application, and is it currently open for this category? 7. All routes: who will cover health insurance for me and each dependant, as confirmed by the health authority? 8. All routes: when do the permit and the residence expire, and in which order will I renew them?

A worked example: one reader, three sets of questions

Take an illustrative reader: a graphic designer with a bachelor's degree, sponsored by a Dubai employer, who plans to work for several clients. The pages reviewed do not say which route to take, but they show what to check.

If the designer looks at a DDA freelancer permit, the questions are about activity and residence. Does the activity sit under a DDA freelancer segment? Is an NOC needed "according to the Licensing Categories Decision"? The DDA pages reviewed do not state whether residence visa sponsorship comes with the permit, so the designer asks DDA.

If the designer looks at a RAKEZ freelancer permit, the limits come first. The designer cannot "appoint any staff" or "open a Corporate Bank Account" under the permit. If those limits fit the plan, the next question is for RAKEZ: whether RAKEZ visa sponsorship applies once the designer leaves the current employer. RAKEZ's page states: "It is optional for UAE residents (GCC and Non-GCC Nationals) to take RAKEZ visa sponsorship."

If the designer looks at Green residence, the first step is the MOHRE permit that ICP names. Then comes evidence: whether the degree meets ICP's qualification wording, and which income or solvency evidence ICP confirms it needs. The designer does not assume that ADRO's "Or" applies to an ICP application, and asks ICP.

Before resigning, the designer asks MOHRE and the residence authority whether, and how, the current employment permit and residence are affected when a freelancer permit is issued.

Who decides, what you prepare, what a provider can do

What the authority decides. MOHRE decides freelance work permits. DDA, RAKEZ and ADRA decide their own freelancer permits and licences. ICP decides Green residence applications; GDRFA Dubai also lists a Green self-employment service, so ask which authority handles yours. No provider decides any of these.

What you prepare. Your passport and any current residence page, your degree or specialised diploma, income or solvency evidence as the authority confirms it, any NOC the licensing authority asks for, and a record of expiry dates for the permit and the residence.

What a provider can do. A provider can help gather and prepare documents, submit them through the channel each authority names and track progress, within whatever its licensed activity allows.

Eligibility is determined by the relevant UAE authority. This article describes published requirements and is not immigration advice.

Last verified: 20 September 2026. Information verified against official sources on 20 September 2026.

If you are planning a move to freelance work and residence in the UAE, contact RINJAZ to confirm availability, scope and quotation. RINJAZ is a privately licensed UAE service provider. It is not a government entity and does not act for any authority.

A provider's role, within whatever its licensed activity covers, is to prepare documents, submit them through the correct channel and track progress. MOHRE, the licensing authority and ICP or GDRFA Dubai decide each application, and no provider can promise the outcome.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Clear answers, without the clutter

Is there an official "freelance visa" in Dubai?
We did not find a product called a "freelance visa" on the u.ae or ICP pages reviewed on 20 September 2026; RAKEZ uses the phrase in the title of its freelancer permit page. ICP's Green Residence Guide lists a Green residence category for "Freelancers and Self-employed Individuals", which requires "a freelance work permit or a self-employment permit issued by the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation." Authorities such as DDA and RAKEZ issue their own freelancer permits. Source: Official source ↗
What income does Green residence require from a freelancer?
ICP's Green Residence Guide, reviewed on 20 September 2026, states: "The annual income from freelance work during the previous two years must not be less than AED 360,000 or its equivalent in foreign currencies." A separate bullet asks for "proof of stable annual income or financial solvency". The guide does not say whether these are alternatives, so ask ICP. Source: Official source ↗
Does a DDA freelancer permit include a residence visa?
We did not find any statement on residence visa sponsorship on the DDA freelancer pages or the DDA Licence Categories Decision reviewed on 20 September 2026. DDA's registration page describes a permit that "identifies you as a sole practitioner" working in your "birth name". Ask DDA directly about residence. Source: Official source ↗
Can a RAKEZ freelancer hire staff or open a corporate bank account?
RAKEZ's freelancer permit page, reviewed on 20 September 2026, states: "Freelancers shall not be eligible to open a Corporate Bank Account" and "Freelancers shall not be eligible to appoint any staff or obtain additional visa under the permit." These rules apply to RAKEZ permits only. Source: Official source ↗
How long is Green residence for freelancers valid, and is there a grace period?
ICP's Green Residence Guide, reviewed on 20 September 2026, states that Green residence "is granted for a period of five years, with the option of renewal". It mentions "specified grace periods" at expiry but does not state their length. Ask ICP or your emirate's residence authority. Source: Official source ↗
Does a freelancer in the UAE pay corporate tax?
Cabinet Decision No. 49 of 2023, as published by the Federal Tax Authority and reviewed on 20 September 2026, states that a natural person's business activities are subject to corporate tax "only where the total Turnover derived from such Businesses or Business Activities exceeds AED 1,000,000". Confirm your position with the FTA or a licensed tax adviser. Source: Official source ↗
VERIFIED REFERENCES

Official sources

Primary government and institutional references used to verify this guide. Open any source in a new tab for the current authority wording.

  1. UAE Government Portalpage updated 07 Aug 2026
  2. UAE Government Portalpage updated 13 Aug 2026
  3. uaelegislation.gov.aeOfficial guidance and service information
  4. uaelegislation.gov.aeOfficial guidance and service information
  5. Dubai Development AuthorityOfficial guidance and service information
  6. Dubai Development AuthorityOfficial guidance and service information
  7. Dubai Development AuthorityOfficial guidance and service information
  8. Dubai Development AuthorityOfficial guidance and service information
  9. Dubai Development AuthorityOfficial guidance and service information
  10. Dubai Development AuthorityOfficial guidance and service information
  11. rakez.comOfficial guidance and service information
  12. rakez.comOfficial guidance and service information
  13. adra.gov.aeOfficial guidance and service information
  14. Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs & Port Securitypage updated 12 Sep 2026
  15. UAE Government Portalpage updated 28 Jul 2026
  16. adro.gov.aeOfficial guidance and service information
  17. adro.gov.aeOfficial guidance and service information
  18. uaelegislation.gov.aeOfficial guidance and service information
  19. uaelegislation.gov.aeOfficial guidance and service information
  20. GDRFA Dubaipage updated 19 Sep 2026
  21. UAE Government Portalpage updated 28 Oct 2025
  22. tax.gov.aeOfficial guidance and service information
  23. tax.gov.aepage updated 06 May 2024

NEXT STEP

Turn the guidance into a clear transaction plan.

Tell us what you need, and we will identify the responsible authority, required documents and practical next step before quoting any service.

Start a service request →